Alumni Charter

This is the english version of the charter. This is only a curtesy translation, meaning it is not legally binding.
This charter was last changed during the General Assembly 2015 on 26th September 2015.
See the german version for the legally binding copy of this document.

§1 Name

1.1. The Association gives itself the name “Jacobs University Bremen Alumni Association“ (Alumni Association).

1.2. After being inscribed into the register of association it will receive the additional specification “registered association“ (“eingetragener Verein“).

§2 Domicile and business year

2.1. The domicile of the Association is Bremen.

2.2. The business year of the Association is the calendar year.

§3 Purpose of the Association

3.1. The Association solely and directly pursues non-profit purposes in terms of the chapter “tax-advantaged“  (“Steuerbegünstigte Zwecke“) of the “Abgabenverordnung“. The purpose of the Association is the advancement of education, science and research, including the support of students. The purpose of the Association is realized through the financial and material support of students, including the funding of scholarships as well as the support of Jacobs University Bremen in the pursuit of its statutory purposes.

3.2. The Association may allocate its means partially to another, equally tax-advantaged body or legal entity under public law, for purposes set out in subsection 3.1. (§ 58 No. 2 AO/German Fiscal Code). It may also acquire means for the realization of tax-advantaged purposes set out in Subsection 3.1. also for other bodies or legal entities under public law (in particular Jacobs University Bremen gGmbH). In order to provide and donate means to a private tax-advantaged legal entity this entity must be tax-privileged itself (§ 58 No 1 AO).

3.3. The purpose of the Association does not target at a commercial business activity, in particular the Association is not seeking profit. The Association is unselfish; it is primarily a non-profit organization.

3.4. Means of the Association may only be utilised for the purposes put down in the Charter. The members do not receive any share in profits or benefits from funds of the Association. After leaving the Association they have no entitlement to Association funds. No person may be advantaged by expenditures that do not correspond to the purposes of the Association or that are disproportionately high.

3.5. All members work on a voluntary basis. Incurred expenses may be reimbursed upon provision of proof.

§4 Preconditions for membership

4.1. Membership as Alumnus/Alumna

4.1.1. Every physical person who has at least studied at Jacobs University Bremen for one semester can after exmatriculation or graduation become part of the Association as regular alumni. The Board or a person commissioned by the Board shall take decisions about admission, based on an application in text or in electronic form (e.g. e-mail). The Board is not obligated to provide reasons for refusal.

4.1.2. The confirmation of admission is to be submitted to the applicant in writing or in electronic form (e.g. e-mail). Membership begins with the receipt of this confirmation.

4.2. Membership as associated Alumnus/Alumna or as honorary member

4.2.1. All members of the faculty of Jacobs University Bremen, the Board of Governors of Jacobs University Bremen, all employees, all volunteers of Jacobs University Bremen and other person or legal entity who have a relation to Jacobs University Bremen may become a member of the Association. They will receive the status of associated members. The same provisions as for regular alumni hold, unless specified differently by this charter.

4.3. Honorary members shall be proposed by the Board and confirmed by the General Assembly. The member may then accept the honorary membership.

4.4. Membership shall end:

4.4.1. with the death of the natural person or dissolution of the legal entity,

4.4.2. automatically in the fiscal year in which the association ceases to operate,

4.4.3. due to withdrawal from the Association; each member may leave the Association, by submitting a simple declaration to that effect in written or text form (e.g. e-mail) to the Board a minimum of four weeks before the end of the fiscal year,

4.4.4. by formal exclusion on the basis of a decision by the board, if the member’s behavior grossly violates the interests of the Association; this is applies in particular if a member does not pay back the student loan s/he has received from Jacobs University Bremen gGmbH; a two-thirds majority of all Board members is required for the Board decision (in accordance with Subsection 8.1 and 8.2.). Before the vote is taken the accused must be given the opportunity of a hearing. The expelled member will be informed in writing about the decision of the Board. The expulsion of member can be revised by the General Assembly. Requests for revision can be submitted by the expelled member and must be mentioned in the agenda of the General Assembly in due time. If two thirds of the eligible voters vote against the expulsion, the member will retrieve his status. There is no legal recourse.

4.4.5. Members who are two years in arrears with payment of their statutory membership fees may be excluded from the membership list by Board resolution; the Board shall decide such matters at its own discretion.

4.5. The rights and duties derived from membership of the Association and any claims to the assets of the Association shall cease with the termination of the membership. Fees will not be returned.

§5 Membership fees

5.1. A membership fee must be paid, if decided upon by the General Assembly. The amount is to be recommended by the Board and to be determined by the General Assembly (“Beitragsordnung” or membership fee by-laws).

5.2. Honorary members are exempted from the membership fee.

§6 Divisions

Members who have a common local connection due to their places of residence or because they share common interests, may, with the prior approval of the Board establish a special division (“Alumni Chapter”). The matters and the external representation of these divisions shall be regulated and represented exclusively by the Board. For division meetings and the composition and election of divisional boards, divisions may specify their own regulations with prior approval of the Board. Such regulations have to be in accordance with the overall interests of the Association.

§7 Organs of the Association

Organs of the Association are:

1.The Board

2.The General Assembly

§8 The Board

8.1. The Board consists of the President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and Secretary, as well as members without fixed portfolios (assessors as per Subsection 8.2.). The term of office is set to three years commencing on the day of election. Board members can be re-elected. The offices of the Board (President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and Secretary) can only be held by regular alumni (see Subsection 4.1.), i.e. non-associated alumni (see Subsection 4.2.). Members running for positions on the Board shall be committed to protecting the interests of the Association, in particular to meeting their financial obligations to Jacobs University Bremen gGmbH in connection with a student loan (paid off, postponement, special mutual agreements). Candidates running for office authorize the Jacobs University Bremen gGmbH (Financial Services) to inform the Board about possible irregularities regarding repayment. Multiple Board positions may not be held by one person. The Board shall remain in office until the next elections. The office held by a Board member shall terminate upon termination of their membership of the Association.

8.2. Furthermore, regular, i.e. non-associated, members can act as assessors. Assessors are suggested by the board and elected in the General – Assembly. They are entitled to the same rights and duties as the other board members, however they do not have a fixed portfolio. The term of office of the assessors is three years, commencing with the day of elections. The assessors can be re-elected. However they stay in office until the election of new assessors. Every assessor is to be elected individually. Upon terminating membership in the Association, the office position as assessor is terminated as well.

8.3. The board is in charge of all matters of the Association, in so far as they are not to be delegated to other bodies of the Association.

8.4. Board members who step down from their office before the end of their office period may be replaced. An acting Board member may be appointed by a two-thirds majority of the Board. The acting Board member shall remain in office until the next General Assembly.

8.5. The Board shall be deemed quorate if the majority of Board members (in accordance with Subsection 8.1. and 8.2.) are present or all Board members have agreed to vote by circular resolution (also e-mail).

8.6. Decisions shall be taken on the basis of a relative majority of the votes cast. If a tie occurs, the voice of the President decides. In the case of his or her absence the Vice-President shall decide. The Board may specify its own by-laws. For evidentiary purposes, the decisions of the Board are to be recorded in the meeting minutes, which shall be taken by the Secretary and must be signed by at least two Board members.

8.7. The Association shall be represented judicially and extra-judicially by two members of the Board (Board members pursuant to Subsections 8.1. and 8.2.).

8.8. Upon request, the Board shall provide members with English language versions of the official documents of the Association.

8.9. Members of the board are only responsible to the association if they cause the association any deliberate harm or act wantonly negligent.

§9 General Assembly

9.1. At least once a year, possibly during the last quarter, the regular General Assembly is to take place. In addition, the General Assembly is to be convened, if the 10 % of the members, stating a reason, demand the calling in writing.

9.2. The venue and time of the General Assembly shall be determined by the Board. Every member must receive an invitation in written or text form (including e-mail) from the Board, stating the agenda, four weeks before the General Assembly. The invitation shall be deemed received by the member, if it is sent to the (e-mail) address last communicated to the Association in writing. The Assembly shall be chaired by the President or in his/her absence by the Vice-President. If both are absent, the General Assembly shall select a chair.

9.3. Every member can until at the latest one week before the General Assembly propose to the Board in written or in text form (also e-mail) an extension of the agenda. The chairman has to announce the extension at the beginning of the General Assembly. Proposals to extend the agenda made at the General Assembly, have to be accepted with a two-thirds majority by the Assembly.

9.4. The General Assembly shall be deemed quorate, if at least ten regular alumni (see Subsection 4.1.) are present. In case of the absence of a quorum, another General Assembly is to be convened; this second General Assembly shall be considered quorate irrespective of the number of members present. When convening this new assembly, the Board must point out that the next assembly will have a quorum irrespective of the number of members present.

9.5. In the General Assembly every member has a vote. The voting right can be exercised by another member if the latter has been authorised to do so in writing. A regular member may not represent more than three additional votes. A voting right cannot be shifted to another member if decisions are to be made that concern the amendment of the Charter or the liquidation of the Association. Associated and honorary members (see subsection 4.2.) are not entitled to vote. Abstentions count as invalid votes.

9.6. In addition, absentee voting is possible; this also includes votes received by e-mail. Absentee voting is permitted up to 24 hours before the beginning of the General Assembly (as evidenced by the receipt of the vote by the Board). Votes after this time will not be considered. The Board may decide to allow online voting by means of the method outlined in Subsection 9.8 ff. instead of postal votes.

9.7. Decision shall be made by simple majority vote, unless this Charter or the law stipulates a different majority. For decisions leading to the amendment of the Charter and decisions on the dissolution of the Association, a majority of two thirds of members present and voting is required. In the event of a tie, the matter shall be decided by lottery, in other cases, the Board shall decide.

9.8. By way of derogation from Subsection 9.4 to 9.7, the General Assembly may take place through an online voting platform, which is accessible for all members with the respective validation data and through a separate link for the election of the Board.

9.8.1. For the online voting procedure, an access link, which is valid only for the current assembly, shall be announced and sent in a separate e-mail to all members no later than two weeks prior to the Assembly. The invitation may be sent according to Subsection 9.2. Each member shall receive a unique access link, with which s/he can only vote once. All members are obliged to ensure that their identification data and the access link are not made available to third parties. Members who have no e-mail address, shall receive the identification data and the access link by mail to the last address communicated to the Association. Subsection 9.2. applies accordingly. The Board may decide on by-laws with regard to the details of the online voting process.

9.8.2. For election to the Board, the successful candidate needs to secure more than half of the valid votes. If no candidate receives more than half of the valid votes, another General Assembly for the run-off ballot will take place through online voting only (see Subsection 9.8.). For this virtual General Assembly, Subsections 9.1. and 9.12. shall apply accordingly; however by way of derogation from Subsection 9.2. the notice period shall be two weeks.

9.9. The tasks of the General Assembly are:

9.9.1. To elect the Board and provide discharge to the Board;

9.9.2. To take decisions concerning amendments to the Charter and the dissolution of the Association;

9.9.3. To approve the annual report and the annual financial statement

9.9.4. To decide the membership fees

9.9.5. Further responsibilities that are delegated to the General Assembly by this Charter.

9.10. Amendments that are required by the court, the tax office or an administrative authority may be decided upon by the Board. An amendment that touches the purpose of the association may only be made after prior provision of information by the relevant tax office.

9.11. The decisions of the General Assembly have to be recorded in the minutes, which is to be signed by at least two board members.

9.12. The General Assembly may, without convening, make decisions in written form. In this case, details of the decision to be made must be sent to every member. Subsection 9.2. Clauses 2 and 3 shall apply accordingly. The decision shall be deemed taken if no a member objects within six weeks (date of postmark) after the dispatch of the draft decision. In the case of an objection by a member, the decision is to be presented again during the next General Assembly.

§10 Auditors

The General Assembly shall elect from among the members of the Association two auditors for a period of office of two fiscal years. The auditors shall not be members of the incumbent Board and shall not hold more than two consecutive terms of office. The auditors monitor the orderly accounting practices of the Association and the accuracy and mathematical correctness of all relevant documents as well as the use of the budget in accordance with the purpose of the Association. The audits shall be conducted with appropriate frequency, at least once prior to the annual General Assembly in the last quarter of the fiscal year. Auditors shall have free access to all related documents of the Association.

§11 Liquidation of the Association

11.1. Proposals to liquidate the Association have to be submitted to the members in writing at least three months before the decision-making General Assembly.

11.2. The decision to liquidate also has to be extended to the Association’s funds. The liquidation is incumbent upon the President and the Vice-President as liquidators jointly authorised to represent. Honorary members do not participate in the liquidation proceeds. The preceding regulations are also valid in the case that the Association is liquidated due to others reasons or that it loses its legal capacity. Subsection 3.3 and 11.3 remain unaffected.

11.3. Upon the dissolution of the Association or in the case of loss of its tax-advantaged status, the Association’s assets shall fall to Jacobs University Bremen gGmbH, which must use them directly and exclusively for charitable purposes.

§12 Severability clause

If any of the provision of these regulations of the applicability thereof is held invalid by any court or competent jurisdiction, the remainder of these provisions of these regulations shall not be affected hereby. In place of the invalidated regulations it is put retroactively as regards content a preferably similar regulation, which comes closest to the purpose of the intended regulation.

Satzung

This is the german, legally binding version of the charter.
This charter was last changed during the General Assembly 2015 on 26th September 2015.
See the english version for a translation of this document.

§1 Name

1.1 Der Verein hat den Namen “Jacobs University Bremen Alumni Association” (Alumni Association).

1.2. Er führt nach Eintragung in das Vereinsregister den Zusatz “eingetragener Verein”.

§2 Sitz und Geschäftsjahr

2.1. Er hat seinen Sitz in Bremen.

2.2. Das Geschäftsjahr des Vereins ist das Kalenderjahr.

§3 Vereinszweck

3.1. Der Verein verfolgt ausschließlich und unmittelbar gemeinnützige Zwecke im Sinne des Abschnitts “Steuerbegünstigte Zwecke” der Abgabenordnung. Zweck des Vereins ist die Förderung von Bildung, Wissenschaft und Forschung sowie von Erziehung, einschließlich der Studentenhilfe. Der Satzungszweck wird insbesondere verwirklicht durch die finanzielle und materielle Unterstützung von Studenten einschließlich der Leistung von Stipendien sowie durch die Unterstützung der Jacobs University Bremen bei der Erfüllung von deren satzungsmäßigen Zwecken.

3.2. Der Verein darf seine Mittel teilweise einer anderen, ebenfalls steuerbegünstigten Körperschaft oder juristischen Person öffentlichen Rechts zur Verwendung zu Zwecken gemäß Ziffer 3.1. zuwenden (§ 58 Nr. 2 AO). Er darf Mittel für die Verwirklichung der in Ziffer 3.1 aufgeführten steuerbegünstigten Zwecke auch für eine andere Körperschaft oder für eine juristische Person des öffentlichen Rechts (insbesondere die Jacobs University Bremen gGmbH) beschaffen, wobei die Beschaffung von Mitteln für eine unbeschränkt steuerpflichtige Körperschaft des privaten Rechts voraussetzt, dass diese selbst steuerbegünstigt ist (§ 58 Nr. 1 AO).

3.3. Der Zweck des Vereins ist nicht auf einen wirtschaftlichen Geschäftsbetrieb gerichtet, insbesondere erstrebt er keinen Gewinn. Der Verein ist selbstlos tätig; er verfolgt nicht in erster Linie eigenwirtschaftliche Zwecke.

3.4. Mittel des Vereins dürfen nur für die satzungsmäßigen Zwecke verwendet werden. Die Mitglieder erhalten keine Gewinnanteile und keine Zuwendungen aus Mitteln des Vereins. Sie haben bei ihrem Ausscheiden keinerlei Ansprüche an das Vereinsvermögen. Keine Person darf durch Ausgaben, die den Zwecken des Vereins fremd sind, oder durch unverhältnismäßig hohe Vergütungen begünstigt werden.

3.5. Die Vereinsmitglieder sind für den Verein ehrenamtlich tätig. Tatsächlich entstandene Auslagen können gegen Nachweis erstattet werden.

§4 Mitgliedschaft

4.1. Mitgliedschaft als Alumnus/Alumna

4.1.1. Jede natürliche Person, die mindestens ein Semester an der Jacobs University Bremen studiert hat, kann dem Verein nach Exmatrikulation oder Graduierung als reguläres Alumni beitreten. Über die Aufnahme entscheidet der Vorstand oder eine von ihm beauftragte Person, auf Grund eines Antrags in Schrift- oder Textform (auch E-Mail). Der Vorstand ist nicht verpflichtet, etwaige Ablehnungsgründe bekannt zu geben.

4.1.2. Die Bestätigung des Beitritts ist dem Antragsteller schriftlich oder in Textform (auch E-Mail) mitzuteilen. Die Mitgliedschaft beginnt mit dem Zugang dieser Mitteilung.

4.2. Mitgliedschaft als assoziierter Alumnus/Alumna oder als Ehrenmitglied

Alle Mitglieder der Professorenschaft der Jacobs University Bremen, des Aufsichtsrats der Jacobs University Bremen (Jacobs University Bremen Board of Governors), alle Angestellten, alle freiwilligen Helfer der Jacobs University Bremen und andere natürlichen oder juristischen Personen, die der Jacobs University Bremen nahe stehen, dürfen dem Verein beitreten. Sie alle erhalten den Status von assoziierten Alumni. Es gelten dieselben Bestimmungen wie für reguläre Almuni, soweit in dieser Satzung nichts Abweichendes geregelt ist.

4.3. Die Ehrenmitgliedschaft ist auf Vorschlag des Vorstands durch Beschluss der Mitgliederversammlung und Annahme des Mitglieds zu erwerben.

4.4. Die Mitgliedschaft endet:

4.4.1. mit dem Tode der natürlichen bzw. dem Ende der juristischen Person,

4.4.2. automatisch in dem Geschäftsjahr, in dem der Verein seine Tätigkeit einstellt,

4.4.3. durch Austritt aus dem Verein; jedes Mitglied kann unter Einhaltung einer Kündigungsfrist von vier Wochen zum Ende des Geschäftsjahres durch einfache Erklärung in Schrift- oder Textform gegenüber dem Vorstand aus dem Verein austreten,

4.4.4. durch förmliche Ausschließung auf Beschluss des Vorstands, wenn das Verhalten des Mitglieds in grober Weise gegen die Interessen des Vereins verstößt; dies ist insbesondere auch der Fall, wenn ein Mitglied ein studentisches Darlehen, das es von der Jacobs University Bremen gGmbH erhalten hat, nicht ordnungsgemäß zurückzahlt; für den Vorstandsbeschluss bedarf es der Mehrheit von zwei Dritteln aller Vorstandsmitglieder (gemäß Ziffer 8.1. und 8.2.. Vor dieser Abstimmung muss dem beschuldigten Mitglied die Möglichkeit einer Anhörung gegeben werden. Das ausgeschlossene Mitglied wird schriftlich von der Entscheidung des Vorstands in Kenntnis gesetzt. Der Ausschluss von Mitgliedern kann durch die Mitgliederversammlung revidiert werden. Anträge auf Revision können vom ausgeschlossenen Mitglied gestellt werden und müssen termingerecht in der Tagesordnung der Mitgliederversammlung aufgeführt werden. Sprechen sich zwei Drittel der Wahlberechtigten gegen den Ausschluss aus, erhält das Mitglied den Status zurück. Der Rechtsweg ist ausgeschlossen.

4.4.5. Mitglieder, die zwei Jahre mit ihren satzungsmäßigen Beitragszahlungen im Rückstand sind, können auf Beschluss des Vorstands von der Mitgliederliste gestrichen werden; der Vorstand entscheidet nach billigem Ermessen.

4.5. Mit Beendigung der Mitgliedschaft erlöschen alle sich aus der Zugehörigkeit zum Verein ergebenden Rechte und Pflichten. Ansprüche an das Vermögen des Vereins stehen den ausgeschiedenen oder ausgeschlossenen Mitgliedern nicht zu. Beiträge werden nicht zurückgezahlt.

§5 Mitgliedsbeiträge

5.1. Es ist ein Mitgliedsbeitrag zu leisten, wenn die Mitgliederversammlung das beschließt. Die Höhe ist von dem Vorstand zu empfehlen und von der Mitgliederversammlung fest zu setzen (Beitragsordnung).

5.2. Ehrenmitglieder sind von den Mitgliedsbeiträgen befreit.

§6 Gliederung

Vereinsmitglieder, die aufgrund ihres Wohnsitzes einen gemeinsamen lokalen Bezug haben oder durch gemeinsame Interessen verbunden sind, können mit vorheriger Zustimmung des Vorstands eine eigene Abteilung gründen (“Alumni Chapter”). Die Angelegenheiten sowie die Vertretung der Abteilungen nach außen werden ausschließlich durch den Vorstand geregelt bzw. wahrgenommen. Für die Abteilungsversammlungen sowie die Zusammensetzung und Wahlen von Abteilungsvorständen können sich die Abteilungen eigene Ordnungen mit vorheriger Zustimmung des Vorstands geben, die in Übereinstimmung mit dem Gesamtinteresse des Vereins stehen müssen.

§7 Organe des Vereins

Organe des Vereins sind:

1. Der Vorstand

2. Die Mitgliederversammlung

§8 Der Vorstand

8.1. Der Vorstand besteht aus einem Präsidenten, einem Vize-Präsidenten, einem Schatzmeister und einem Schriftführer sowie weiteren Mitgliedern ohne Geschäftsbereich (Beisitzer gemäß Ziffer 8.2.). Die Amtszeit beträgt drei Jahre vom Tage der Wahl an gerechnet. Mitglieder des Vorstandes können wiedergewählt werden. Die Ämter des Vorstands (Präsident, Vize-Präsident, Schatzmeister, Schriftführer) können nur von regulären Alumni (vgl. Ziffer 4.1.), d.h. nicht von assoziierten Alumni (vgl. Ziffer 4.2.) ausgeführt werden. Wer für ein Vorstandsamt kandidiert, verpflichtet sich, die Vereinsinteressen zu wahren, insbesondere die finanziellen Verpflichtungen gegenüber der Jacobs University Bremen gGmbH, die aus einem Darlehen entstanden sind, ordnungsgemäß zu erfüllen (abgezahlt, post-ponement, spezielle Einzelfallregelungen). Jeder Kandidat ermächtigt die Jacobs University Bremen gGmbH (Financial Services), den Vorstand über eine etwaige nicht ordnungsmäßige Rückzahlung zu informieren. Die Vereinigung mehrere Vorstandsämter in einer Person ist unzulässig. Der Vorstand bleibt bis zur Neuwahl des Vorstandes im Amt. Mit der Beendigung der Mitgliedschaft im Verein endet auch das Amt eines Vorstandsmitglieds.

8.2. Darüber hinaus fungieren reguläre Alumni (vgl. Ziffer 4.1.), d.h. nicht assoziierte Alumni (vgl. Ziffer 4.2.) als Beisitzer. Beisitzer werden vom Vorstand vorgeschlagen und in der Mitgliederversammlung gewählt. Sie haben die gleichen Rechte und Pflichten wie die anderen Vorstandsmitglieder, verfügen jedoch über keinen Geschäftsbereich. Die Amtszeit der Beisitzer beträgt drei Jahre vom Tage der Wahl an gerechnet. Beisitzer können wiedergewählt werden. Die Beisitzer bleiben jedoch bis zur Neuwahl neuer Beisitzer im Amt. Mit der Beendigung der Mitgliedschaft im Verein endet auch das Amt des Beisitzers.

8.3. Der Vorstand ist für alle Angelegenheiten des Vereins zuständig, soweit sie nicht durch die Satzung einem anderen Organ des Vereins übertragen sind.

8.4. Scheidet ein Vorstandsmitglied vor Ablauf seiner Amtszeit aus, ist der Vorstand berechtigt, ein kommissarisches Vorstandsmitglied durch einen mit 2/3 Mehrheit zu fassenden Beschluss zu bestimmen. Das kommissarische Vorstandsmitglied bleibt bis zur nächsten Mitgliederversammlung im Amt.

8.5. Der Vorstand ist beschlussfähig, wenn die Mehrheit der Vorstandsmitglieder (gem. Ziffern 8.1. und 8.2.) anwesend ist oder alle Vorstandsmitglieder einer Beschlussfassung im Umlaufverfahren schriftlich oder in Textform (auch per E-Mail) zustimmen.

8.6. Der Vorstand fasst seine Beschlüsse mit einfacher Mehrheit. Bei Stimmengleichheit entscheidet der Präsident, bei seiner Abwesenheit der Vize-Präsident. Der Vorstand kann sich eine Geschäftsordnung geben. Beschlüsse des Vorstands werden in einem Ergebnisprotokoll der Sitzung niedergelegt und von mindestens zwei vertretungsberechtigten Vorstandsmitgliedern unterschrieben.

8.7. Der Verein wird gerichtlich und außergerichtlich durch zwei Mitglieder des Vorstandes (Vorstandsmitglieder gem. Ziffern 8.1 und 8.2) vertreten.

8.8. Auf Anfrage stellt der Vorstand die offiziellen Dokumente des Vereins den Mitgliedern in englischer Sprache zur Verfügung.

8.9. Mitglieder des Vorstands sind dem Verein nur bei Vorsatz und grober Fahrlässigkeit verantwortlich.

§9 Mitgliederversammlung

9.1. Die ordentliche Mitgliederversammlung wird vom Vorstand mindestens einmal jährlich einberufen. Sie soll möglichst im letzten Quartal eines Geschäftsjahres als Jahreshauptversammlung stattfinden, im Übrigen nach Bedarf. Die Mitgliederversammlung ist einzuberufen, wenn 10 % der Mitglieder die Einberufung schriftlich unter Angabe eines Grundes verlangen.

9.2. Ort und Zeitpunkt der Mitgliederversammlung bestimmt der Vorstand. Einladungen des Vorstands erfolgen schriftlich oder in Textform (auch per E-Mail) an jedes Mitglied unter Bekanntgabe der Tagesordnungspunkte und unter Einhaltung einer Einladungsfrist von mindestens vier Wochen. Die Einladung gilt dem Mitglied als zugegangen, wenn es an die letzte vom Mitglied dem Verein bekannt gegebene (E-Mail-) Adresse gerichtet ist. Die Mitgliederversammlung wird vom Präsidenten, bei seiner Abwesenheit vom Vize-Präsidenten, geleitet. Sind beide nicht anwesend, bestimmt die Versammlung den Versammlungsleiter.

9.3. Jedes Mitglied kann bis spätestens eine Woche vor der Mitgliederversammlung beim Vorstand schriftlich oder in Textform (auch per E-Mail) eine Ergänzung der Tagesordnung beantragen. Der Versammlungsleiter hat zu Beginn der Mitgliederversammlung die Ergänzung bekannt zu geben. Anträge, die nicht rechtzeitig beantragt worden sind, können nur verhandelt werden, wenn die Versammlung sich mit 2/3-Mehrheit der stimmberechtigten Mitglieder dafür ausspricht.

9.4. Die Mitgliederversammlung ist beschlussfähig, wenn mindestens zehn reguläre Alumni (vgl. Ziffer 4.1.) anwesend sind. Bleibt die einberufene Mitgliederversammlung beschlussunfähig, so ist eine neue Mitgliederversammlung einzuberufen, die ohne Rücksicht auf die Zahl der erschienenen Mitglieder beschlussfähig ist. Bei der Einberufung der neuen Mitgliederversammlung ist darauf hinzuweisen, dass die nächste Versammlung ohne Rücksicht auf die Zahl der erschienenen Mitglied beschlussfähig sein wird.

9.5. In der Mitgliederversammlung hat jedes Mitglied eine Stimme. Nicht anwesende Mitglieder können sich durch ein mit einer schriftlichen Vollmacht ausgestattetes anwesendes Mitglied, das den Status eines regulären Alumni (vgl. Ziffer 4.1.) hat, in der Mitgliederversammlung vertreten lassen. Ein regulärer Alumni darf jedoch nicht mehr als drei fremde Stimmen vertreten. Stimmvertretung ist nicht zulässig für Beschlüsse, die eine Satzungsänderung oder die Auflösung des Vereins zum Gegenstand haben. Assoziierte Alumni und Ehrenmitglieder (vgl. Ziffer 4.2.) besitzen kein Stimmrecht. Stimmenthaltungen gelten als ungültige Stimmen.

9.6. Außerdem findet eine Briefwahl statt; hierzu zählen auch per E-Mail eingegangene Stimmen. Die Stimmabgabe per Briefwahl ist bis 24 Stunden vor Beginn der Mitgliederversammlung zulässig (maßgeblich ist der Eingang beim Vorstand). Verspätet eingegangene Stimmen werden nicht berücksichtigt. Der Vorstand kann beschließen, dass statt der Briefwahl ein virtuelles Onlineverfahren gemäß den nachstehenden Ziffern 9.8. ff. durchgeführt wird.

9.7. Die Beschlussfassung erfolgt durch einfache Stimmenmehrheit, soweit nicht die Satzung oder das Gesetz eine andere Mehrheit vorschreibt. Für Satzungsänderungen und Beschlüsse über die Auflösung des Vereins ist eine Mehrheit von zwei Dritteln der anwesenden stimmberechtigten Mitglieder erforderlich. Bei Stimmengleichheit entscheidet im Falle einer Wahl das Los, in anderen Fällen der Vorstand.

9.8. Für die Wahl des Vorstands erfolgt die Mitgliederversammlung abweichend von den vorstehenden Ziffern 9.4 bis 9.7 auch virtuell in einem Onlineverfahren auf einer nur für Mitglieder mit ihren Legitimationsdaten und einem gesonderten Zugangslink zugänglichen Online-Wahlplattform.

9.8.1. Im Onlineverfahren wird der nur für die aktuelle Versammlung gültige Zugangslink mit einer gesonderten E-Mail an die Mitglieder spätestens zwei Wochen vor der Mitgliederversammlung bekanntgegeben. Ausreichend ist dabei die ordnungsgemäße Absendung entsprechend Ziff. 9.2. Jedes Mitglied erhält dabei einen individuellen Zugangslink, mit dem es nur einmal seine Stimme abgeben kann. Sämtliche Mitglieder sind verpflichtet, ihre Legitimationsdaten und den Zugangslink keinem Dritten zugänglich zu machen und unter strengem Verschluss zu halten. Mitglieder, die über keine E-Mail-Adresse verfügen, erhalten die Legitimationsdaten und den Zugangslink per Post an die letzte dem Vorstand bekannt gegebene Adresse. Ziffer 9.2. gilt hierfür entsprechend. Für die Einzelheiten des Onlineverfahrens kann der Vorstand eine Wahlordnung beschließen.

9.8.2. Für die Wahl des Vorstands gilt, dass gewählt ist, wer mehr als die Hälfte der gültigen Stimmen erhalten hat. Hat kein Kandidat mehr als die Hälfte der gültigen Stimmen erhalten, findet eine weitere Mitgliederversammlung für die Stichwahl ausschließlich virtuell im Onlineverfahren gemäß Ziffer 9.8. statt. Für diese virtuelle Mitgliederversammlung gelten die vorstehenden Ziffern 9.1. bis 9.12. entsprechend, die Ziff. 9.2. allerdings mit der Abweichung, dass die Ladungsfrist nur zwei Wochen beträgt.

9.9. Die Aufgaben der Mitgliederversammlung sind:

9.9.1. Wahl/Abberufung und Entlastung des Vorstandes;

9.9.2. Beschlussfassung über die Änderung der Satzung und über die Vereins­auflösung;

9.9.3. Genehmigung des Geschäftsberichts und des Jahresabschlusses;

9.9.4. Festlegung der Höhe von Mitgliedsbeiträgen;

9.9.5. Weitere Aufgaben soweit sie sich aus der Satzung oder dem Gesetz ergeben.

9.10. Satzungsänderungen, die vom Registergericht, dem Finanzamt oder einer Verwaltungsbehörde gefordert werden, können vom Vorstand beschlossen werden. Eine Satzungsänderung, die Vereinszwecke berührt, darf nur nach vorheriger diesbezüglicher Auskunftserteilung des für die Besteuerung des Vereins zuständigen Finanzamtes vorgenommen werden.

9.11. Über Beschlüsse der Mitgliederversammlung ist ein Protokoll aufzunehmen, das von mindestens zwei Vorstandsmitgliedern zu unterschreiben ist.

9.12. Die Mitgliederversammlung kann, ohne Zusammentreten, auch auf schriftlichem Wege beschließen. Hierbei ist jedem Mitglied der zu fassende Beschluss zu übersenden. Ziffer 9.2. Sätze 2 und 3 gelten entsprechend. Der Beschluss gilt als gefasst, wenn innerhalb von sechs Wochen nach Absendung des Beschlussentwurfs (Datum des Poststempels) kein Mitglied ablehnt. Im Fall der Ablehnung durch ein Mitglied ist der Antrag in der nächsten Mitgliederversammlung erneut vorzubringen.

§10 Kassenprüfer

Die Mitgliederversammlung wählt aus dem Kreis der Vereinsmitglieder zwei Kassenprüfer für eine Amtszeit von zwei Jahren. Die Kassenprüfer dürfen nicht dem Vorstand angehören und ihr Amt nicht mehr als zwei aufeinanderfolgende Amtsperioden ausüben. Die Kassenprüfer sollen die Ordnungsmäßigkeit der Buchführung und der Belege sachlich und rechnerisch sowie auch die zweckgerechte Verwendung der Mittel prüfen. Die Prüfungen sollen in angemessener Häufigkeit, zumindest einmal vor der ordentlichen Mitgliederversammlung im letzten Quartal des Geschäftsjahres stattfinden. Die Kassenprüfer haben freie Einsicht in die Bücher des Vereins.

§11 Auflösung des Vereins

11.1. Anträge auf Auflösung des Vereins sind den Mitgliedern mindestens drei Monate vor der beschlussfassenden Mitgliederversammlung schriftlich bekannt zu geben.

11.2. Der Auflösungsbeschluss hat sich auch auf das Vereinsvermögen zu erstrecken. Die Liquidation obliegt dem Präsidenten und dem Vize-Präsidenten als gemeinsam vertretungsberechtigte Liquidatoren. Ehrenmitglieder nehmen nicht am Liquidationserlös teil. Die vorstehenden Vorschriften gelten entsprechend für den Fall, dass der Verein aus einem anderen Grund aufgelöst wird oder seine Rechtsfähigkeit verliert. Ziffern 3.3. und 11.3. bleiben unberührt.

11.3. Bei Auflösung des Vereins oder bei Wegfall der steuerbegünstigten Zwecke fällt das Vereinsvermögen an die Jacobs University Bremen gGmbH, die es unmittelbar und ausschließlich für gemeinnützige Zwecke zu verwenden hat.

§12 Salvatorische Klausel

Sollte eine oder mehrere Bestimmung dieser Satzung ganz oder teilweise rechtsunwirksam sein, so wird dadurch die Gültigkeit der übrigen Bestimmungen nicht berührt. An die Stelle der unwirksamen Bestimmungen tritt rückwirkend eine inhaltlich möglichst gleiche Regelung, die dem Zweck der gewollten Regelung am nächsten kommt.